Advice on new Snapchat settings

Snapchat recently released a new feature called snap maps.  This location based map allows users to see where their contacts are, as well as seeing location-based photos and videos.  The Snap Map shows a user's Bitmoji, their cartoon avatar within Snapchat, pinpointed on a world map.  Users can then zoom into the map to see the location of their friends. 

This new feature can be potentially very dangerous as it allows others to see your exact location and places you visit which could land in the hands of strangers.

Bullybusters has the following advice for anyone who uses Snapchat.  Sharing your location can be a dangerous thing to do so remember to:

  • Only share your location with people you know in person.  Never share your location with strangers.
  • Don't add contacts if you don't know them in person - this applies to ALL social media apps.
  • Regularly review your settings (again this applies to all social media apps) and take an active decision about whether you want people to know your location.  Remember you can switch this off anytime.
  • Think about where you're sharing your location.  Location services such as Snap Maps can lead people to your house.  Think about what time you're on the app and whether these are locations you want to share - if not turn this off within your settings (instructions to do this are below)

How to make your location private in Snap Maps:

  1. Whilst in Photo-taking mode, pinch the screen to open your snap map

  2. Snap the Settings cog in the top right hand corner

  3. Tap ghost mode to switch off shared location